Welcome to Harrison County Indiana!

Harrison County has a wonderfully rich history in the emergence of Indiana as our 19th state and the establishment of Corydon as Indiana's first state capital. Just as the early representatives met under the Constitution Elm in Corydon to draft Indiana's first Constitution, the current members of Harrison County government are working hard to represent the needs and will of the people of Harrison County Indiana. Harrison County provides residents with a progressive business community, active social, civic and religious organizations and a friendly small town feel.

Harrison County's rural location is just 25 minutes from the city center of Louisville, Kentucky, the nation's 16th largest city. The outstanding location and growing economy has made Harrison County one of the Indiana's fastest growing counties in recent years. For business or for pleasure we invite you to explore Harrison County Indiana and see for yourself why our community is an ideal place to live, work and play.


General Election - Early Voting

In person early voting will begin October 10th and continue through noon on November 5th.

The Courthouse Election Room will be open for voters from 8:00am to 4:15pm Monday through Friday. The office will close for lunch from 1:00pm to 1:30pm.

On Thursday, October 25th and Thursday, November 1st the office will be open until 6:00pm. On the last two Saturdays before the election, October 27th and November 3rd, the office will be open from 8:00am until 3:00pm. All voters must provide a State of Indiana issued photo ID, such as an Indiana Drivers’ license, to be allowed to vote.

For those voters unable to vote on Election Day, November 6th, or unable to come to the Courthouse, a ballot may be mailed upon receipt of the completed application provided below. Voters must complete the application, including a signature, print it and mail it to:

Clerks Office
300 N. Capitol Ave.
Corydon, IN 47112 

Or scan and email it to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Click here to apply for absentee voting



General Election

The General Election will be held on November 6th, 2018. Provided below is a list of candidates. Polling sites are open from 6:00am - 6:00pm. For more information please contact the Harrison County Clerk's Office. 

2018 General Election Candidates (pdf)


Hoosier History and Heritage Celebration

The public is invited to attend the annual “Hoosier History and Heritage Celebration” and meet the newest members of the “First Families of Floyd, Clark, and Harrison Counties Legacy Project” on October 4 at the Floyd County 4-H Fairgrounds Newlin Hall.

A drop-in pioneer social will begin at 6 PM with local history and First Families displays and music by Indian Creek Bluegrass Band. The Falls of the Ohio Archaeological Society will exhibit regional artifacts. Light refreshments will be served. Attendees are welcome to dress as pioneers.

At 7 PM, the Louisville Sons of the American Revolution Memorial Color Guard will open the formal program.New Albany Mayor Jeff Gahan will officially proclaim “First Families of Floyd, Clark, and Harrison Counties in Indiana Day” and “Family History Month” in the city. Certificates will be awarded to the year’s honorees who have verified direct ancestors in the tri-county area before 1841. Presenters will be Daniel Bays, Harrison County historian; Jeanne Burke, Clark County historian, and Melissa Wiseheart, Floyd County genealogist.

The First Families Legacy Project is cosponsored by the Southern Indiana Genealogical Society and the Floyd County Public Library Indiana Room. For more information about the Celebration or the First Families Project, please visit or call Donna Kepley Foster at 812-923-3492.